HBCU Transfer Information for Counselors

The Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) Transfer Program was developed to offer a smooth and seamless student pathway from California Community Colleges to partnered HBCUs.  Students, by preparing to transfer to the University of California or the California State University systems may also be eligible for admissions to targeted HBCUs. 

By completing the Intersegmental General Education Transfer Curriculum requirements (known as IGETC and accepted at both the University of California and the California State University) or the California State University General Education Breadth pattern (known as CSU GE) and obtaining a transfer-level associate degree (60 units) with a 2.5 or higher grade point average, students are guaranteed admission with junior standing to participating HBCUs.

Students may also opt to transfer with 30 or more University of California or California State University transferable units and a 2.5 or higher grade point average.  Units will be accepted for general education, pre-major or elective units.

HBCUs are typically much smaller in student size than most California public institutions. The majority of classes are taught by professors rather than teaching assistants, in a nurturing and supportive environment. And, at HBCUs, there may be more opportunities for student leadership development.

All of the HBCUs that have partnered with California Community Colleges are private except one. The tuition costs for private HBCUs are typically a fraction of the costs of private institutions in California.

 The one-state university partner, Lincoln University in Missouri, will offer in-state tuition for California Community College students.

Of the 37 HBCUs that have partnered with California Community College more than half are private institutions. The tuition cost for private HBCUs is typically a fraction of the cost of private institutions in California.

Seven of the sixteen partner schools that are public or state-supported institutions will offer in-state tuition to California Community College transfer students.

HBCU CONTACTS

Institution
Contact
Email Address
Phone #

Alabama State University

Randall Massey

rmassey@alasu.edu

334-229-4806

Alcorn State University

Katangelia Tenner

ksampson@alcorn.edu 

601-877-6148

Arkansas Baptist College

Dr. Tracey Moore

tracey.moore@arkansasbaptist.edu

501-420-1240

Benedict College

Keisha Montgomery

Keisha.Montgomery@benedict.edu

803-705-4910

Bennett College

Jasmine Faison

jsfaison@bennett.edu  

336-517-2167

Bethune-Cookman University

Shantell Thompson

culmers@cookman.edu

386-481-2581

Bowie State University

Lawrence Webb

lwebb@bowiestate.edu

301-860-3370

Central State University

Amanda McCombs

amccombs@centralstate.edu

937-376-6596

Claflin University

Ebony Douglas

ebony.james@claflin.edu

803-535-5551

Clark Atlanta University

Andra Brantley

abrantley@cau.edu

404-880-6342

Dillard University

De’Idra Richard

drichard@dillard.edu

504-816-4309

Edward-Waters College

Ricky Glover

Ricky.glover@ewc.edu

904-470-8205

Fisk University

Desmond Holland

dholland@fisk.edu

615-329-8832

Florida Memorial University

Courtenay McClain

courtenay.mcclain@fmuniv.edu

305-626-3796

Fort Valley State University

Dennis Gillaird dennis.gillaird@fvsu.edu  478-825-6506

Grambling State University

Kenneth Ruffin ruffink@gram.edu

318-274-6108

Hampton University

Wynter Hobson wynter.hobson@hamptonu.edu 757-687-2051

Harris-Stowe State University

Lance Smith

SmithLan@hssu.edu

314-340-3305

Huston-Tillotson University

Asia Hanney

aehaney@htu.edu

512-505-3023

Kentucky State University

JenniferWilliams

jennifer.williams@kysu.edu

502-597-6486

Lane College

Derrick Mays

dmays@lanecollege.edu

731-426-7533

Lincoln University of Missouri

Amanda Woods

woodsa@lincolnu.edu

573-681-5017

Lincoln University of Pennsylvania

Mario Bowler

mbowler@lincoln.edu

484-365-7207

Mississippi Valley State University

Dr. Danisha Williams

Danisha.Williams@mvsu.edu

662-254-3345

North Carolina Central University

Denettia Shaw

dshaw9@NCCU.EDU

919-530-6687

Philander Smith College

Yohannis Job yjob@philander.edu

501-370-5211

Shaw University

Anthony Brooks

anthony.brooks@shawu.edu

919-719-1983

Southern University and A&M College

Chelsea Cunningham chelsea_cunningham@subr.edu

225-771-4000

Southern University at New Orleans

C. Maxille Moultrie cmoultrie@suno.edu 504-286-5033

Stillman College

Karyn Nooks knooks@stillman.edu

205-469-8757

Talladega College

John Bell
Lon Weind

jwbell@talladega.edu
lweind@talladega.edu

256-761-6318
256-761-6235

Tennessee State University

Dr. Alisa L. Mosley

amosley@tnstate.edu

615-963-2923

Texas Southern University

Christopher London

christopher.london@tsu.edu

713-313-1985

Tougaloo College

Joel Swan

jswan@tougaloo.edu

601-977-7772

Tuskegee University

Donavon Coley

dcoley@tuskegee.edu

334-724-4828

Virginia State University

Rodney Hall
Will Travis

rhall@vsu.edu
wtravis@vsu.edu

804-524-2954
804-524-5774

Xavier University of Louisiana

Tamika Starks

tstarks1@xula.edu 504-520-7574

West Virginia State University

Jameelah Means

jmeans9@wvstateu.edu

304-766-5182

Wiley College

Darryl D. Isom
Shawana D. Hayes

disom@wileyc.edu
shayes1@wileyc.edu

903-927-3214
903-927-3291