HBCU Transfer Information for Counselors

The Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) Transfer Program was developed to offer a smooth and seamless student pathway from California Community Colleges to partnered HBCUs.  Students, by preparing to transfer to the University of California or the California State University systems may also be eligible for admissions to targeted HBCUs. 

By completing the Intersegmental General Education Transfer Curriculum requirements (known as IGETC and accepted at both the University of California and the California State University) or the California State University General Education Breadth pattern (known as CSU GE) and obtaining a transfer-level associate degree (60 units) with a 2.5 or higher grade point average, students are guaranteed admission with junior standing to participating HBCUs.

Students may also opt to transfer with 30 or more University of California or California State University transferable units and a 2.5 or higher grade point average.  Units will be accepted for general education, pre-major or elective units.

HBCUs are typically much smaller in student size than most California public institutions. The majority of classes are taught by professors rather than teaching assistants, in a nurturing and supportive environment. And, at HBCUs, there may be more opportunities for student leadership development.

All of the HBCUs that have partnered with California Community Colleges are private except one. The tuition costs for private HBCUs are typically a fraction of the costs of private institutions in California.

 The one-state university partner, Lincoln University in Missouri, will offer in-state tuition for California Community College students.

Of the 37 HBCUs that have partnered with California Community College more than half are private institutions. The tuition cost for private HBCUs is typically a fraction of the cost of private institutions in California.

Seven of the sixteen partner schools that are public or state-supported institutions will offer in-state tuition to California Community College transfer students.

HBCU CONTACTS

Institution
Contact
Email Address
Phone #

Alabama State University

Sunkeissa Cantrell

scantrell@alasu.edu

334-329-4912

Alcorn State University

John Igwebuike
Katangelia Tenner

jigwe@alcorn.edu
ksampson@alcorn.edu

601-877-6140
601-877-6148

Arkansas Baptist College

Dr. Carlos Clark

carlos.clark@arkansasbaptist.edu

501-420-1217

Benedict College

Keisha Montgomery

Keisha.Montgomery@benedict.edu

803-705-4910

Bennett College

James Crawford

jcrawford@bennett.edu

336-517-1818

Bethune-Cookman University

Shantell Thompson

culmers@cookman.edu

386-481-2581

Bowie State University

Shelandreia Williams

sjwilliams@bowiestate.edu

301-860-3416

Central State University

Camille Johnson

cjohnson@centralstate.edu

937-376-6575

Claflin University

Mark A. Roberts

maroberts@claflin.edu

803-535-5573

Clark Atlanta University

Faye Green

tss@cau.edu

404-880-6913

Dillard University

Monica White

mwhite@dillard.edu

504-283-8822

Edward-Waters College

Ricky Glover

Ricky.glover@ewc.edu

904-470-8205

Fisk University

Danisha Williams

dwilliams@fisk.edu

615-329-8503

Florida Memorial University

Maurice Vaughen

Maurice.vaughen@fmuniv.edu

305-626-3796

Fort Valley State University

Calandra Wright

wrightc@fvsu.edu

478-825-6227

Grambling State University

D’Andrea Brown

Brownda@gram.edu

318-274-2432

Harris-Stowe State University

Daremoni Jones

johnsda@hasu.edu

314-446-8991

Huston-Tillotson University

Jeffrey Pierce

jepierce@htu.edu

512–505-3003

Kentucky State University

Stephen Williams

Stephen.williams@kysu.edu

502-597-6322

Lane College

Derrick Mays

dmays@lanecollege.edu

731-426-7533

Lincoln University of Missouri

Amanda Woods

woodsa@lincolnu.edu

573-681-5017

Lincoln University of Pennsylvania

Mario Bowler

mbowler@lincoln.edu

484-365-7207

Mississippi Valley State University

Jaquelyn Williams
Michael Taylor, Sr.

jawill@mvsu.edu
michealc.taylor@mvsu.edu

662-254-3345
662-254-3127

North Carolina Central University

Denettia Shaw

dshaw9@NCCU.EDU

919-530-6687

Philander Smith College

Maurice Osborne

mosborne@philander.edu

501-370-5211

Shaw University

Anthony Brooks

anthony.brooks@shawu.edu

919-719-1983

Southern University

Robert Rene

robert_rene@subr.edu@subr.edu

225-771-7827

Stillman College

Tamara Marshall

tmarshall@stillman.edu

205-247-8007

Talladega College

John Bell
Lon Weind

jwbell@talladega.edu
lweind@talladega.edu

256-761-6318
256-761-6235

Tennessee State University

Dr. Alisa L. Mosley

amosley@tnstate.edu

615-963-2923

Texas Southern University

Brian Armstrong

armstrong_bj@tsu.edu

713-313-6861

Tougaloo College

Joel Swan

jswan@tougaloo.edu

601-977-7772

Tuskegee College

Thelma Vines

tvines@tuskegee.edu

334-727-8289

Virginia State University

Rodney Hall
Will Travis

rhall@vsu.edu
wtravis@vsu.edu

804-524-2954
804-524-5774

West Virginia State University

Jameelah Means

jmeans9@wvstateu.edu

304-766-5182

Wiley College

Quinten Bates

qbates2@wileyc.edu

903-927-3227

Xavier University of La

Carlos Gooden

cgooden2@xula.edu 

504-520-7388